Science

BMS – SCIENCE DEPARTMENT WEBSITE

District curriculum: http://sharepoint.pthsd.k12.nj.us/community/curr.aspx

Science Department is transitioning into the NGSS (Next Generation Science Standards) http://www.nextgenscience.org/get-to-know

 

NGSS Practices:

1. Asking questions (for science) and defining problems (for engineering)

2. Developing and using models

3. Planning and carrying out investigations

4. Analyzing and interpreting data

5. Using mathematics and computational thinking

6. Constructing explanations (for science) and designing solutions (for engineering)

7. Engaging in argument from evidence

8. Obtaining, evaluating, and communicating information

 

NGSS Cross-Cutting Concepts:

1. Patterns.

2. Cause and effect: Mechanism and explanation.

3. Scale, proportion, and quantity

4. Systems and system models.

5. Energy and matter: Flows, cycles, and conservation

6. Structure and function

7. Stability and change

 

 

6th Grade Earth Science

Sixth grade science classes incorporate Engineering Design Challenges for each unit of study.  

Engineering Design Process

Geology (Minerals & Rocks)

Weathering and Erosion

Plate Tectonics

Earthquakes & Volcanoes

Geologic Time

Weather 

Astronomy

 

6th Grade Science Teachers:

Clare Clear cclear@pthsd.net

Elena Gerber egerber@pthsd.net

Mary Pantina mpantina@pthsd.net

Kristine Skinner kaskinner@pthsd.net


7th Grade Life Science

Seventh grade science focuses on the study of living organisms and also includes the use of the engineering design process.

 

Common themes among living organisms:

  • Microscopic structures in cells and their functions,
  • Human body systems and interactions including the frog dissection
  • Genetics and heredity,
  • Ecosystems and ecology
  • How adaptations can lead to changes in populations.

 

7th grade science teachers:

            Laura Fitzgerald lfitzgerald@pthsd.net

            Renee Harris rharris@pthsd.net

            Kellie Malloy kmalloy@pthsd.net

            Donna Ricker (Lead teacher) dricker@pthsd.net

 

8th Grade Physical Science & Intro to Physical Science (IPS)

8th grade science focuses on chemical and physical properties of matter and also includes the use of the engineering design process.

Physical Science topics include:

  • Introduction to Physics
  • Motion: Speed, velocity, and acceleration
  • Forces
  • Newton’s Laws
  • Introduction to Chemistry
  • Classification of matter
  • Phases of Matter
  • Periodic Table
  • Chemical Equations

 

8th grade science teachers:

          Paula Maas pmaas@pthsd.net

            Robert Sudol rsudol@pthsd.net

            Tom Walek twalek@pthsd.net

            Maureen Wilson mawilson@pthsd.net

 

View the solar power information at Brooklawn School
<http://surepathprofile.tiogaenergy.com/entry
  Username = pbms Password = pass4pbms 

 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.