Social Studies

BMS – SOCIAL STUDIES DEPARTMENT WEBSITE

District curriculum: http://sharepoint.pthsd.k12.nj.us/community/curr.aspx

Social Studies Class Websites



6th Grade Ancient History

Curriculum Link: http://sharepoint.pthsd.k12.nj.us/ci/Approved%20Curriculum/SST663%20Social%20Studies%20Grade%206.pdf

Online Textbook:   https://www.successnetplus.com/

Topics Covered
I.    Culture
II.   Stone Ages
III.  Mesopotamia
IV.   Ancient Egypt
V.    Ancient India
VI.   Ancient China
VII.  Ancient Greece
VIII. Ancient Rome

6th Grade Teachers
Siobhan Hannagan  shannagan@pthsd.net
Stacey Hilgendorf shilgendorf@pthsd.net
James Wiegand jwiegand@pthsd.net
Lyndsey Wyman lwyman@pthsd.net


7th Grade Introduction to American Studies


Curriculum Link: http://sharepoint.pthsd.k12.nj.us/ci/Approved%20Curriculum/SST773%20Grade%207%20Introduction%20to%20American%20Studies%20).pdf

Online Textbook:  http://my.hrw.com/

Topics Covered
I.     Basic Map Skills and the Five Themes of Geography 
II.    Early European Exploration and Colonization 
III.   Causes of the American Revolution 
IV.   Battles of the American Revolution 
V.    The Declaration of Independence 
VI.   Dilemmas for the Early Government 
VII.  The Constitution of the United States 
VIII. The New Republic and Westward Expansion 
IX.   Causes of the American Civil War 
X.    The Civil War 
XI.   Reconstruction 

7th Grade Teachers
John Englishmen  jenglishmen@pthsd.net
David Griffith  dgriffith@pthsd.net
Brian James bjames@pthsd.net
Joshua Wienstein jweinstein@pthsd.net

8th Grade

Curriculum Link http://sharepoint.pthsd.k12.nj.us/ci/Approved%20Curriculum/SST508%20Grade%208%20World%20History%20and%20World%20History%20Honors%20500-1500%20%20%201-8-2014.pdf


Online Textbook: http://student.teachtci.com/student/sign_in

Topics CoveredI.    The Ancient Americas, 500-1500II.   African Kingdoms and the Rise and Spread of Islam, 500-1500
III.  Middle Age China and Japanese Feudalism, 500-1500
IV.  The Fall of Rome and Rise of Byzantium (500-1450)
V.   New Europe: The Early Middle Ages, Spread of Christianity, and Feudalism (500-1000)
VI.  Conflict and Crusades: Europe's Political and Religious Unrest (700-1500)
VII. Changing Europe: The Revival of Trade and the Breakdown of Medieval Society (1000-1500) 
VIII. Introduction to the Renaissance (1300-1500)

8th Grade Teachers
Gina Beauchamp gbeauchamp@pthsd.net
Kathleen James kjames@pthsd.net
Mary Jo Sheahan msheahan@pthsd.net
Stephen Walker swalker@pthsd.net
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.