Social Studies

BMS – SOCIAL STUDIES DEPARTMENT WEBSITE

District curriculum (click here) 

Social Studies Class Websites


6th Grade Ancient History

6th grade Curriculum (click here)

6th grade Online Textbook:  (click here) 

Topics Covered
I.    Culture
II.   Stone Ages
III.  Mesopotamia
IV.   Ancient Egypt
V.    Ancient India
VI.   Ancient China
VII.  Ancient Greece
VIII. Ancient Rome

6th Grade Teachers
Siobhan Hannagan  shannagan@pthsd.net
Dero Pettinelli dpettinelli@pthsd.net
James Wiegand jwiegand@pthsd.net
Lyndsey Wyman lwyman@pthsd.net


7th Introduction to American Studies

 7th grade Curriculum Link (click here)

Online Textbook:  http://my.hrw.com/

Topics Covered
I.     Basic Map Skills and the Five Themes of Geography 
II.    Early European Exploration and Colonization 
III.   Causes of the American Revolution 
IV.   Battles of the American Revolution 
V.    The Declaration of Independence 
VI.   Dilemmas for the Early Government 
VII.  The Constitution of the United States 
VIII. The New Republic and Westward Expansion 
IX.   Causes of the American Civil War 
X.    The Civil War 
XI.   Reconstruction 


7th Grade Teachers

David Griffith  dgriffith@pthsd.net
Rebecca Hadjiloucas rmhadjiloucas@pthsd.net 
Brian James bjames@pthsd.net
Kathleen James  kjames@pthsd.net
Thomas Walek walek@pthsd.net


8th Grade

Curriculum Link (click here)

Online Textbook: http://student.teachtci.com/student/sign_in

Topics Covered
I.    The Ancient Americas, 500-1500
II.   African Kingdoms and the Rise and Spread of Islam, 500-1500
III.  Middle Age China and Japanese Feudalism, 500-1500
IV.  The Fall of Rome and Rise of Byzantium (500-1450)
V.   New Europe: The Early Middle Ages, Spread of Christianity, and Feudalism (500-1000)
VI.  Conflict and Crusades: Europe's Political and Religious Unrest (700-1500)
VII. Changing Europe: The Revival of Trade and the Breakdown of Medieval Society (1000-1500) 
VIII. Introduction to the Renaissance (1300-1500)

8th Grade Teachers
Ryan Archer rarcher@pthsd.net 
Gina Beauchamp gbeauchamp@pthsd.net 
Brian James bjames@pthsd.net 
Mary Jo Sheahan msheahan@pthsd.net


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.